My First Adventure in Art Journaling

When I first bought my gelli plate I around for ideas/inspiration of how to use it.  I discovered that a lot of people use it for art journaling.  While I’ve always felt inspired by pictures of people’s art journals, I’ve also felt intimidated and unsure of it.  Where do I start?  Do I journal daily?  What if it doesn’t look good?

Well, there’s no better time to dive into a new creative adventure then during your Creative Recharge!  After coming across a weekly blog series devoted to Art Journaling, I decided to finally let go of all my apprehensions and just TRY it.  Worst case: I find out Art Journaling isn’t for me and this blog post doesn’t get written.  Best case: I really enjoy it and am happy enough with the finished piece to share it here.  If you couldn’t guess…we’re in Best Case Land :)

My first Art Journal entry

In the least conceded way possible, I have to say, I love it.  I don’t love it because I think it’s a masterpiece – it’s not, nor is it meant to be.  I love it because it represents a personal victory.  I was well outside my comfort zone with this, but even so, I was able to let go of my hesitations and expectations and just play.  I let the art happen – and the fact that it ended up where it did kinda blows my mind.

Art Journal - Let Your Creativity Flourish

True to my journal entry, I let my creativity flourish :)

Are there things I don’t love about it?  Sure.  But, do they bother me?  Nah.  That’s because there were a couple of points where I really wasn’t loving it, which was something I had feared would happen.  I was afraid I had ruined it, and I was left with 3 options: A. Give up.  B. Take a break and come back with fresh eyes (aka: probably give up). or C. Keep working with it.  I chose option C and I’m so glad that I did.  I cleared a creative hurdle and made it to a point where it felt complete AND I was satisfied with it.

Art journal process

Mmmm, gelli-plate goodness! Truthfully: it was tempting to stop here, in an effort to leave well enough alone. I’m so glad I kept pushing myself though.

The collage below shows my Art Journal Journey.  You can click on any of the thumbnails to see larger shots.  I’ve also added captions to some of the pics so you can know what was going through my head at different points (hover to see which ones have captions).

Do I plan on journaling every night?  No way josé!  I keep a 5-minute journal where I write a couple of sentences about my day each night – and sometimes I’m too tired to even do that.  Do I plan on journaling again?  You betchya!  I felt so empowered and excited after completing this! The fact that I was able to truly let go of all my fears, apprehensions, and (most of all) the anxiety of imperfection felt amazing.  That’s a good place to be, and a place I would like to visit again soon.

2 thoughts on “My First Adventure in Art Journaling

Leave a Comment :)

