A Paper Pachyderm

In my last post, I joked about trying origami as a way to upcycle some old calendar pages.  Then I remembered, I have tried origami!

Over a year ago, I had re-pinned a video on how to make an origami elephant.  It wasn’t until afterwards that I remembered that I have 2 elephant lovers in my life: my co-worker, Janelle, & my best friend from college, Lindsey.  So, even though I had no prior successful origami experience, I took a stab at it.

After about 45 minutes, a couple of choice curse words and LOTS of rewinding & pausing, I had turned a piece of scrapbook paper into a little elephant:

Origami Elephant

A couple of nights later, I made another one.  Surprisingly, the first one I did looked better – go figure.  And of course, I only took pictures of elephant #2.  Nevertheless, my elephant-lover friends both loved their paper pachyderms :)

Origami Elephant

I can’t say I have any real plans to dabble in origami again – I personally don’t find it as relaxing (or as easy) as weaving or embroidery.  But if you’ve ever considered trying origami, I say – go for it!  The video I followed was very clear, you just need to pay close attention.  Also, be prepared to do a lot of pausing and rewinding (and maybe a little cursing :P).

I’m currently working on a project that features one of my favorite animals.  Is it foxes?  Perhaps owls?  Maybe giraffes?  You’ll have to check back to find out!  Ahh, the suspense!  Haha – see ya soon :)

2 thoughts on “A Paper Pachyderm

Leave a Comment :)

