My name is Amy, and I’m a Photoholic

I have something stuck on my mind like a pebble in my shoe.

That something is Project Life. I recently learned about it from my co-worker/most active Sandblog commenter Janelle. She posted about it a couple of weeks ago and my reaction went from intrigued to obsessed within a couple of days.

Project Life is like a hybrid of a scrapbook and photo album, that’s intended to document every week of your life in photos and notes. Every week ?! That seemed a bit obsessive to me – but I was still intrigued.

Throughout high school and college I would snap, print and place ALLLL of my photos in albums. Especially during college: going to Wal-Mart to get pics printed in an hour qualified as a social event (*cringe*). This led to an absurd amount of photos of pretty much the same stuff, just in different outfits. Don’t get me wrong – I’m glad I have some of the pictures – but overall it’s just too much.

So, I’ve fallen out of love with albums, but I haven’t fallen out of love of taking pictures! I’ve made a couple of scrapbooks and photobooks for big trips. But otherwise, we have TONS of pictures of friends/family/holidays/our house/my nephew/our chinchilla/smaller trips… all collecting virtual dust on the computer. Sigh.

RM7_01My most recent Photobook: our Rocky Mountain Adventure. There’s more pics down below!

Enter: Project Life! This seems like the perfect solution. Something more flexible than a photobook, more interesting than just an album, but not as time-consuming as a scrapbook (she says optimistically).

I plan on doing a modified version. No need for weekly spreads… I just want to feature special visits with family/friends and holidays…with a few pics of daily life peppered in. Plus – I’m hoping that the spreads will force me to be more selective with which pictures I include. There’s no need to show every picture from every event…just the best of the best, with some notes on what was memorable :)

I’m super excited to start my modified version of Project Life! I. Can’t. Wait.

“Well, what are you waiting for?” – you wonder.

Answer: I recently started ANOTHER photobook. This is actually my 4th one in 15 months! I’m fiiinnnnaaallllyyy getting around to documenting our 2011 trip to Maine/New Hampshire (mentioned here). I intended on making this photobook before our Rocky Mountain trip…but that didn’t happen. So, it needs to happen now, before we get busy with moving, or else it will never happen.

So, I’m using Project Life as my motivation to finally complete our Maine photobook!

On that note…I need to get photobooking! (Is that a verb? It is now!) But, not without sharing a little a lot of photobooktastic eye-candy first! Here are some a lot of my favorite spreads in our Rocky Mountain Adventure photobook:

RM1_01
In Rocky Mountain Nat’l Park we took a 5-mile hike up to Sky Pond. Check out the friendliest chipmunk EVER!
RM2_01

RM3_01The mountain lakes were crystal clear and beautiful shades of blue.

RM4_01The view from the top of the world (or 10,887 feet). Also – some elk. We saw elk every single day in RMNP.

RM5_01Driving into the Wyoming sunset to get a full day in Grand Teton National Park the next day.

RM6_01The Tetons are beautiful. I saw them over 8 years ago – but had a much better appreciation for them this time.

RM8_01

RM9_01We spent 3 days enjoying and hiking around Grand Teton National Park. Above is Cascade Canyon.

Okay, I realize this is a lot…but I had 111 pages to choose from! Keep scrolling – you’re half way there!

RM12_01
We also made our way up to Yellowstone Nat’l Park. Above is where super-sneaky Paul did his super-sneaky proposal!
RM13_01Anyone else think that the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone should be the Park’s main feature, instead of Old Faithful?

RM14_01

RM15_01Yellowstone is like a prehistoric land, with all of it’s hot springs, geysers and fumaroles!

RM16_01Last but not least, a group of some classic American landscapes (left) and the back cover of the book (right).

You made it! Congratulations and thanks for looking :)

3 thoughts on “My name is Amy, and I’m a Photoholic

  1. ha… how often should I ask you “have you finished your photobook yet?!” I can’t wait to see what you do with Project Life. It’s gonna be awesome!!

  2. Pingback: Christmas Craft Recap & Creative Optimism for 2013 | Amy's Sandblog

  3. Pingback: Taking the plunge… | Amy's Sandblog

Leave a Comment :)

