Oh snap!

…guess who got a new camera! This girl! In an obvious attempt to top previous amazing birthday gifts (a private glass-blowing lesson, a mountain bike, a sewing machine…to name a few) Paul succeeded. My birthday isn’t for another 2 weeks, but Paul surprised me with a really nice compact digital SLR: the Sony Nex 7.

20120522-221900.jpg
I haven’t had a chance to play with it too much yet, but I am eager to learn some photography essentials in order to get the most outta this puppy….I do not want to just leave it on auto! Despite the fact that I took Photography in college, I really only remember film development, which is less than useful in 2012. So, I’d really like to brush up and (re-)learn the ins and outs of ISO, shutter speed, aperture…all those fancy camera words.

I’m looking forward to sharing my photography progress here :) I have some great opportunities to practice coming up: this weekend we’re going down to beautiful Asheville, North Carolina to visit Paul’s parents…there’s no shortage of great shots down there! Then, for my actual birthday, we’re going down to the Baltimore Zoo so I can feed the giraffes (I’m making 30 the new 9 :P) I’m SO excited! And of course, my chinchilla Buster always makes for some interesting (and difficult) pictures.

Until next time, say cheese!

2 thoughts on “Oh snap!

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMY AND CONGRATS TO PAUL FOR AN OUTSTANDING GIFT AND TO YOU FOR YOUR ENERGY AND MOTIVATION TO LEARN ALL ABOUT IT! ENJOY ALL YOUR TRIPS. Dad working with Jerry today and I think we are meeting them for dinner Wed. nite. xoxoxo

Leave a Comment :)

