“High Hopes…”

"High Hopes"…I’ve got high hopes!  So, like many people in America, I was recently laid off.  Although this isn’t the best news – I don’t feel discouraged.  I am convinced this is an opportunity to start fresh; at a new job with positive, creative people.  I honestly believe that good things are on the horizon.

Last Monday I heard the song “High Hopes” by Frank Sinatra – and I found it to be very uplifting and encouraging (here’s a link to the lyrics).  That evening I decided to illustrate the happy lyrics in Illustrator.  I illustrated everything – the ant & the rubber tree, the ram & the dam, even the “high apple pie in the sky”.  But – I really like the idea of the little ant successfully lugging around a rubber tree plant (for whatever reason) – so I’ve cropped the image down to just that. 

One day I’d like to write and illustrate a series of children’s book  – but before that day comes I need to develop my own illustrating style .  I really admire those who can illustrate, and I appreciate all of the different illustrating styles that exist.  I believe that with little exercises like this I’ll discover, develop and improve my illustrating style.

Leave a Comment :)

