Rising and SHINING!

Hello friends!  Did you think I fell off the face of the planet?  Or better yet….went back to California?

Nope – I’m still here (although, I’d go back to California in a heartbeat!).  I’ve been wanting to blog….but I’ve been avoiding it because I can’t bring myself to finish my California series.  I only had 3 more spots to write about (Kings Canyon NP, Santa Cruz/Big Basin Redwood SP & Napa Valley)….but I just can’t.  I don’t have it in me.  You’ll just have to take my word that they were all amazing, but not more amazing than everything I’ve already shared – so don’t feel jipped :)

I’m back because I have some creative pieces/projects/concepts to share!  First on the list: #AmycreatesintheAM.  I had started reading a book on how getting up earlier can actually feel great & in turn make you a more successful person.  For those of you who don’t know me – I don’t quite “spring” out of bed.  In fact, it takes about a half hour of hitting the snooze button before I SLUMP out of bed. It is awful.

Early morning in my craft room

Rather – it WAS awful.  After reading 1/3 of the book, I realized that I needed something that would get me excited to get up in the morning.  The something?  Spending time in my craftroom everyday.  Crazy?  A little.  But, being creative is a WAY better motivator than going to work ever was.  Plus, it guarantees that I exercise my creative & artistic muscles everyday – whereas creativity is usually the first thing to fall off the priority list when I’m busy.

So – for about 3 weeks, I’ve been getting up early to create …and I love it!  It gets my creative juices flowing & fills me with the rewarding tingles of accomplishment before I even eat breakfast!

Get creative in the morningGet creative in the morning

Best of all, this early morning habit has lead to one of my favorite pieces yet.  I made a watercolor painting for one my elephant-loving friends, Janelle (this is the second handmade elephant I’ve given her :))

Watercolor elephant

I’m really happy with how this little guy turned out.  Not gonna lie, I was even a little tempted to keep him – but Janelle was so happy with him, it made it easier to part with.  I know he went to a good home :)

I’ve been sharing most of my projects on Instagram (under the hashtag #AmycreatesintheAM) but I’d like to share everything here.  I’ve also found that creating in the morning has also motivated me to make even MORE time for creativity in the evenings and on the weekends.  So, those projects will be shared here too.  Plus, I have some logos I’m working on for 2 people, and I CAN’T WAIT to share those here!!

I’m limited on time over the next couple of weeks, so I’m going to tryyyyyyy to just pop in, post some pics with a couple of words and keep it moving (a la my intended goal for my Sandblog this whole year).  We’ll see though.  I’ve attempted this before, but (…not to sound cliché…) the words get in the way :P  But I’ll try, because I miss my Sandblog!

Alright…well, we’re painting our bedroom this weekend, so off I go!  But I hope to be back soon :)

2 thoughts on “Rising and SHINING!

Leave a Comment :)